The Leadership Nebraska Award was created and funded by the Harpst Family to recognize a Nebraska Press Association newspaper or publisher (or executive of such paper) that best illustrates efforts in promoting lead­ership within their community such as news articles about youth groups that foster leadership, community leadership organizations and their participants, or information about alumni of leadership groups and success stories as these individuals go on to actual community leadership posts. The Harpst Family wishes “that this award be given to the best newspaper coverage for future and present community leaders.”

  • 2019 Laurie Pfeifer (retired), Aurora News-Register
  • 2018 Jerry Guenther, Norfolk Daily News
  • 2017 Gene O. Morris, McCook Gazette
  • 2015 Sheryl Schmeckpeper, Norfolk Daily News
  • 2014 Jack Cooper, Humboldt Standard
  • 2013 Ken Rhoades, Blair Enterprise Publishing Co.
  • 2012  Deb McCaslin, Broken Bow Custer Co. Chief
  • 2010  Imperial Republican and Staff
  • 2009  Nebraska City News-Press
  • 2008  Peggy Year, Northeast Nebraska News Co.
  • 2007  William “Scott” Schock, Falls City Journal
  • 2006  David Swartzlander, Doane Owl, Crete
  • 2005  W.P. “Wendy” Lummel, Bridgeport News-Blade
  • 2004  George Miller, Plattsmouth Journal
  • 2003  Theodore Huettmann, Wisner News-Chronicle
  • 2002  Jeanne Wehrbein, Plattsmouth Journal
  • 2001  Kent Warneke, Norfolk Daily News
  • 2000  Eric Seacrest, Western Publishing
  • 1999  Kim Johnson, Hebron Journal-Register

For the Harpst Leadership Award Selection Committee

Accompanying documents for candidate application:

Day1 001NDN-081723.indd

Day2 001NDN-081823.indd

Day2 008NDN-081823.indd

Day3 001NDN-081923.indd

Day3 008NDN-081923.indd

Day4 008NDN-082123.indd

Day4 001NDN-082123.indd

Day5 001NDN-082223.indd

Day5 008NDN-082223.indd

Day6 001NDN-082323.indd

Day6 008NDN-082323.indd

Day7 001NDN-082423.indd

Day7 006NDN-082423.indd

Day8 001NDN-082523.indd

Day8 008NDN-082523.indd